List of Nominees for CAF Awards 2023

List of Nominees for CAF Awards 2023: CAF has recently unveiled the initial list of nominees for the upcoming CAF Awards 2023. The ceremony is set to take place on 11 December 2023 in Rabat, Morocco. The first list of nominees primarily focuses on the men’s categories, which include Player of the Year, Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Club of the Year. The nominees for the women’s categories will be announced at a later date.

The selection of nominees was made by a stakeholder panel consisting of Technical Experts, CAF Legends, and Journalists. The panel took into account the performances of the nominees from September 2022 to June 2023 across all levels of the game.

The winners in each category will be determined through a voting process involving a panel composed of the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals, Head Coaches & Captains of Member Associations, as well as clubs participating in the group stage of the Interclub competitions.

List of Nominees for CAF Awards 2023

Player of the Year (Men)

1. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Al Ahli)

2. Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon, SSC Napoli)

3. Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon, Besiktas)

4. Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

5. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Paris Saint-Germain)

6. Sofyan Amrabat (Morocco, Manchester United)

7. Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

8. Youssef En-Nesyri (Morocco, Sevilla)

9. Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, SSC Napoli)

10. Sadio Mane (Senegal, Al Nassr)


Goalkeeper of the Year (Men)

1. Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)

2. Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

3. Andre Onana (Cameroon, Manchester United)

4. Ronwen Williams (Sout Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

5. Edouard Mendy (Senegal, Al Ahli)


Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

1. Aymen Mahious (Algeria, USM Alger/Yverdon-Sport)

2. Zineddine Belaid (Algeria, USM Alger)

3. Fiston Mayele (DR Congo, Young Africans/Pyramids)

4. Mahmoud Abdel Moneim “Kahraba” (Egypt, Al Ahly)

5. Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)

6. Yahia Attiyat Allah (Morocco, Wydad Club Athletic)

7. Yahya Jabrane (Morocco, Wydad Athletic Club)

8. Peter Shalulile (Namibia, Mamelodi Sundowns)

9. Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

10. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia, Al Ahly)


Young Player of the Year (U-21) (Men)

1. Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso, Bournemouth)

2. Abdessamad Ezzalzouli (Morocco, Real Betis)

3. Bilal El Khannous (Morocco, KRC Genk)

4. Lamine Camara (Senegal, Generation Foot/Metz)

5. Amara Diouf (Senegal, Generation Foot)


Coach of the Year (Men)

1. Abdelhak Benchikha (USM Alger)

2. Marcel Koller (Al Ahly)

3. Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)

4. Walid Regragui (Morocco)

5. Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

National Team of the Year (Men)

1. The Gambia

2. Equatorial Guinea

3. Mauritania

4. Morocco

5. Senegal


Club of the Year (Men)

1. USM Alger (Algeria)

2. Al Ahly (Egypt)

3. Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

4. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

5. Young Africans (Tanzania)

The timing of the CAF Awards 2023 is significant, as it will be held before the final of the TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2022, Africa’s premier women’s football competition. The tournament is scheduled to take place from 2 July to 23 July 2023. The event will also coincide with the two-year anniversary of the launch of the CAF Women’s Football Strategy.

The CAF Awards ceremony is highly anticipated, as it recognizes the outstanding achievements and contributions of African footballers and teams. It provides a platform to celebrate the talent and success within the African football community and coincides with significant milestones in the development of women’s football on the continent.

Check also: