Top 10 of the Golden Boy Index 2023

Top 10 of the Golden Boy Index 2023: Jude Bellingham, Jamal Musiala, Alejandro Garnacho, and Gavi have been included in the Golden Boy 100-strong longlist for 2023. The Golden Boy award, presented by Italian outlet Tuttosport, recognizes the top player under the age of 21 playing in Europe. Gavi, who won the award in 2022, is still eligible to defend his title at the age of 18.

According to the Golden Boy Index, a data-driven ranking of Europe’s top 100 young players, Jamal Musiala is currently in the top spot. He is followed by Jude Bellingham, who recently secured a move to Real Madrid, in second place, and Gavi in third place.

Musiala, who plays for Bayern Munich and the German national team, had an impressive season in 2022/23, scoring 16 goals and solidifying his status as one of the best young midfielders in the world.

While the Golden Boy Index provides a ranking, the final winner of the Golden Boy award will be determined through voting by sports journalists from Europe’s major media organizations. Past recipients of the award include Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, Kylian Mbappe, Raheem Sterling, and Wayne Rooney.

Top 10 of the Golden Boy Index 2023

LaLiga is aiming to achieve a hat-trick of Golden Boy awards, with Pedri winning in 2021 and Gavi claiming the title in 2022. Gavi has the opportunity to win back-to-back awards, as he currently holds the third position in this year’s Golden Boy Index.

Top 10 of the Golden Boy Index 2023

  • Jamal Musiala – Bayern Munchen
  • Jude Bellingham – Real Madrid
  • Gavi – Barcelona
  • Antonio Silva – Benfica
  • Alejandro Balde Martinez – Barcelona
  • Xavi Simons – PSV
  • Florian Wirtz – Bayer 04
  • Benjamin Sesko – RB Salzburg
  • Devyne Rensch – Ajax
  • Giorgio Scalvini – Atalanta

This showcases the talent and potential that both Pedri and Gavi possess, further emphasizing the strength of young players emerging from LaLiga.

Golden Boy Winner Last 10 Years

Year Winner Team
2010 Mario Balotelli Inter Milan
Manchester City
2011 Mario Götze Borussia Dortmund
2012 Isco Málaga
2013 Paul Pogba Juventus
2014 Raheem Sterling Liverpool
2015 Anthony Martial Monaco
Manchester United
2016 Renato Sanches Benfica
Bayern Munich
2017 Kylian Mbappé Monaco
Paris Saint-Germain
2018 Matthijs de Ligt Ajax
2019 João Félix Benfica
Atlético Madrid
2020 Erling Haaland Borussia Dortmund
2021 Pedri Barcelona
2022 Gavi Barcelona

Check also: