Tuzo za CAF 2023 – Washiriki CAF Award

Tuzo za CAF 2023 – Washiriki CAF Award: CAF has recently unveiled the initial list of nominees for the upcoming CAF Awards 2023. The ceremony is set to take place on 11 December 2023 in Rabat, Morocco. The first list of nominees primarily focuses on the men’s categories, which include Player of the Year, Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Club of the Year. The nominees for the women’s categories will be announced at a later date.

The selection of nominees was made by a stakeholder panel consisting of Technical Experts, CAF Legends, and Journalists. The panel took into account the performances of the nominees from September 2022 to June 2023 across all levels of the game.

The winners in each category will be determined through a voting process involving a panel composed of the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals, Head Coaches & Captains of Member Associations, as well as clubs participating in the group stage of the Interclub competitions.

List of Nominees for CAF Awards 2023

Player of the Year (Men)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Paris Saint-Germain)
Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)
Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)
Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Fiston Mayele (DR Congo, Pyramids)
Peter Shalulile (Namibia, Mamelodi Sundowns)
Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)
Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Abdelhak Benchika (Algeria, Simba SC)
Walid Regragui (Morocco)
Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Coach of the Year (Women)

Reynald Pedros (Morocco)
Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
Jerry Tshabalala (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men)

Andre Onana (Cameroon, Manchester United)
Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)
Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Abdessamad Ezzalzouli (Morocco, Real Betis)
Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)
Amara Diouf (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women)

Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)
Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburgh Panthers)

National Team of the Year (Men)


National Team of the Year (Women)

South Africa

Club of the Year (Men)

Al Ahly (Egypt)
Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)
Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Women)

AS FAR (Morocco)
Sporting Casablanca (Morocco)
Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

The timing of the CAF Awards 2023 is significant, as it will be held before the final of the TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco 2022, Africa’s premier women’s football competition. The tournament is scheduled to take place from 2 July to 23 July 2023. The event will also coincide with the two-year anniversary of the launch of the CAF Women’s Football Strategy.

The CAF Awards ceremony is highly anticipated, as it recognizes the outstanding achievements and contributions of African footballers and teams. It provides a platform to celebrate the talent and success within the African football community and coincides with significant milestones in the development of women’s football on the continent.

Editors’ Picks